Friday, July 5, 2019

Book review of A Very French Affair by Sue Roberts

French Village Diaries book review A Very French Affair Sue Roberts
A Very French Affair Sue Roberts

A VERY FRENCH AFFAIR by Sue Roberts


From Southport to the South of France – this is going to be a summer to remember!

Life just got a whole lot more complicated for thirty-eight-year-old single mum Liv. Her son Jake is practically perfect in every way, but he’s started asking some difficult questions, and the answers lie in a holiday romance twenty years ago. Back when Liv was staying with her aunt on the French Riviera…

Returning to the Cote d’Azur, with its white sandy beaches, her supportive aunt, and exquisite wine and cheese is harder than it sounds though. Because – if she’s going to give Jake the answers he needs – Liv knows she has to hunt down her first love Andre. And since she’s a professional baker rather than a professional investigator, she doesn’t even have a clue where to start.

At first, finding the one that got away proves even trickier than she thought. And if she succeeds, how will he take the bombshell secret Liv has been keeping? Liv has to do the best thing for her family, but does that mean closing the door on this very French affair?

A joyful, laugh-out-loud story about second chances, secrets and sunshine! The perfect summer read for fans of Carole Matthews, Jenny Colgan and Sophie Kinsella. 
 
French Village Diaries book review A Very French Affair Sue Roberts
A Very French Affair Bookouture books-on-tour

My Review:

Jake is 20 and things are not going great for him at uni, so he feels he needs a direction change. This has triggered his desire to know more about his Father than the name of a man who had left his mum’s life before she knew she was pregnant. 

Leaving her cake business in the hands of her assistant, his mum Liv realises now is the time to return to her Aunt’s patisserie in the south of France, where a holiday romance changed her life. Note, if your will power is low, this book could do serious damage to your diet! As she helps her Aunt, Liv also begins the detective work she should have done twenty years ago. Without knowing where to start, a few chance meetings get her on the right track, but even when finding André seems possible, what will she say to him after all these years and more importantly how will he feel about her and the secret she has kept from him? 

I don’t want to say too much, but there are a few surprises waiting for Liv on the Côte d’Azur and decisions to be made about Jake’s future. He might be ready for new adventures, but what about Liv, the independent woman who has brought him up alone? Whilst there are no great twists in this book, it is a warm, feel-good tale about what happens when your past catches up with you and offers you a second chance at happiness. There is a good mix of characters who form a close-knit group of family and friends and both the food and location descriptions conjured up vivid images.

If you are looking for something light and easy to add to your summer reading list, I think this would be perfect.

Purchase Links:




 
French Village Diaries book review A Very French Affair Sue Roberts
Sue Roberts

About the author: 

Sue was born in Liverpool and moved to Lancashire as a teenager where she has lived ever since. She has written three books, the third 'My Summer of love and limoncello.' will be published on March 6th and she is busy working on a fourth book. When not busy writing, Sue spends her time with her ever growing family. She enjoys walking, cinema and travelling. Her first book 'My Big Greek Summer.' was inspired by frequent visits to the Island of Rhodes in Greece. All Sue's books are available from Amazon in kindle and paperback format.

You can find Sue on Twitter here.


No comments:

Post a Comment

Please don't be shy, I love to hear from you.