Friday, November 1, 2019

Book review of The Paris Girl by Natalie Meg Evans



French Village Diaries book review The Paris Girl Natalie Meg Evans
The Paris Girl by Natalie Meg Evans

The Paris Girl by Natalie Meg EvansSynopsis:

Paris, 1920s. Tatiana Vytenis has worked hard to leave her past behind. Once a ruined Russian princess in hiding, she is now a sought-after model and engaged to Gérard de Sainte-Vierge – a handsome, if occasionally overbearing, aristocrat. With the Sainte-Vierge heirloom ruby sparkling on her finger, Tatiana feels as though she should be happy. Not long ago she was penniless and now she’s about to become a marquise.

But fate still has a final hand to play. One night in a bohemian café in Montparnasse, Tatiana discovers she’s been the unknowing plaything of the Sainte-Vierge family. Hidden beneath their genteel exteriors, Gerard and his brother have a secret darker side, and her darling fiancé will gladly ruin Tatiana’s life to save his own reputation.

As Tatiana’s situation becomes ever more desperate, she crosses paths with an unlikely guardian angel. Serious, dark-haired Regan Dortmeyer is an American in Paris – a war photographer running from his own hard knocks in Hell’s Kitchen, New York. He’s no fancy French nobleman, but Regan has seen the lengths to which a wicked man like Gerard will go. As the consequences of her disastrous engagement threaten to swallow Tatiana up, he might be the only one who can save her now…

From the USA Today bestselling author of The Milliner’s SecretThe Paris Girl is a beautiful novel full of twists and turns, set against the breathtaking backdrop of 1920s Paris. Perfect for fans of Chanel Cleeton, Kathleen Tessaro and The Alice Network.  

French Village Diaries book review The Paris Girl Natalie Meg Evans
The Paris Girl blog tour banner

My Review:

This book gives you 1920’s Paris glamour, fashion and romance. From the swish of fabric, the latest colours and the attention to detail of accessories, often seen through the eye of a photographer, the excitement and anticipation of each new collection comes to life. There is the backstage drama, the rivalry and the Paris night life, all set alongside a complex family who are struggling to come to terms with their losses in Russia after the First World War. 

It is not easy to like Tatiana. Her tantrums, her emotional outbursts and the way she treats those around her; she is the perfect spoiled princess who is determined to marry into French aristocracy in order to secure her future. Where her older sister Katya (partner at the fashion house where Tatiana is a model) is strong and makes decisions for the good of those around her, Tatiana thinks only of herself. 

It is when Katya leaves Paris with her husband Harry Morten, under a shroud of secrecy, that Tatiana’s life begins to crumble. Her fiancé tricks her and his actions leave her alone and vulnerable, and without Katya in control, their mother retreats into herself and the fashion house struggles with the lack of direction. Snubbed by those she called her friends, it is American photographer Regan who has a knack of always being there to help pick up the pieces. As disaster after disaster befalls Tatiana, she begins to change for the better, but her road to recovery is a long one and she can’t seem to help but hurt those around her. Does she have the strength to undo all the wrongs she has done? Will Katya and Harry return in time to save the family and the business? This book kept me guessing.

Having enjoyed The Secret Vow, where we followed Katya, Tatiana, their mother Irina and niece Anoushka’s journey from Russia to Paris, it was good to return and catch up with them once more.

If you enjoy historical fiction, this one, that opens the doors to Paris of another era, should be on your to-be-read list.


French Village Diaries book review The Paris Girl Natalie Meg Evans
Natalie Meg Evans

Author Bio:

Natalie Meg Evans has been an art student, actor, PR copywriter, book-keeper and bar tender but always wanted to write. A USA Today best-seller and RITA nominee, she is author of four published novels which follow the fortunes of strong-minded women during the 1930s and 40s. Fashion, manners and art are the glass through which her characters’ lives are viewed. Each novel is laced with passion, romance and desire. Mystery is never far away. An avid absorber of history – for her sixth birthday she got a toy Arthurian castle with plastic knights – Natalie views historical fiction as theatre for the imagination. Her novels delve behind the scenes of a prestige industry: high fashion, millinery, theatre, wine making. Rich arenas for love and conflict. Most at home in the English countryside, Natalie lives in rural Suffolk. She has one son.  


No comments:

Post a Comment

Please don't be shy, I love to hear from you.