Wednesday, December 4, 2019

Book review of Christmas in Chamonix by Sasha Wagstaff

French Village Diaries book review Christmas in Chamonix by Sasha Wagstaff
Christmas in Chamonix by Sasha Wagstaff


Christmas in Chamonix

When life goes downhill... head to the snow-capped Alps for roaring fires, apres-ski and festive romance.

Lily Jackson loves Christmas. She also loves her childhood friend Jamie, but when her plan to kick-start their romance goes drastically wrong and her job gets her down, Lily decides it’s time to make changes. A job opens up in snowy Chamonix and egged on by her best friend Imogen, Lily decides to go for it.

As Lily settles in with the eccentric Devereux family at their gorgeous boutique ski hotel, she starts to confront her past. But when she meets handsome ski instructor Luc, who hates Christmas, Lily might have taken on more than she can handle.

Can Lily make a new life – with or without skis? And can she get Luc to see how truly romantic Christmas can be?

A heart-warming, feel-good romantic comedy, perfect for fans of Holly Martin, Carole Matthews and Tilly Tennant.

French Village Diaries book review Christmas in Chamonix by Sasha Wagstaff
Christmas in Chamonix tour banner

My review

Poor Lily, stuck in a rut at work and living a romance that exists only in her head. To begin with she came across as a bit of a dreamer, however as soon as she struggled onto skis for the first time, I connected with her. As someone who came to skiing late in life and was about as un-natural at it as it’s possible to be, I felt her fear, her confusion about finding herself in this strange ski-lovers world and her sense of achievement when she began to master the basics thanks to patient instructor Luc. A new beginning in Chamonix was just what she needed, and I couldn’t help but want her to find happiness in her work and love life, but I also enjoyed a good laugh at some of the situations she found herself in along the way. 

This book has a lot going on with mini plots to follow alongside Lily’s journey of getting to grips with her past. From the story of her sister’s new romance, to the mysterious undercurrents behind the scenes at the Devereux family boutique hotel, and not forgetting trying to ignite the Christmas spirit in her knight in shining armour on the ski slopes. All this plus Chamonix in winter, the magic of the snow-covered mountains, comforting hot chocolate, delicious melted cheese and a heartfelt family Christmas celebration in France - what's not to love!

This book is a lovely Christmas getaway with tears, laughter, Christmas cheer and French mountain comfort food to make your stomach rumble as you read.

Purchase Link 




French Village Diaries book review Christmas in Chamonix by Sasha Wagstaff
Sasha Wagstaff

Author Bio 

Sasha Wagstaff learned foreign languages, and imagined she might eventually get a glamorous job speaking French. After climbing her way up the banking ladder, Sasha started idly mapping out the beginnings of a novel on an old laptop. When she realised her characters were more real to her than dividends and corporate actions ever could be, she left her job to become a writer. She also writes under the pseudonym of Ella Harper.

Social Media Links  

Twitter Canelo 
Twitter Ella Harper 
Facebook Canelo Books 

French Village Diaries book review Christmas in Chamonix by Sasha Wagstaff

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please don't be shy, I love to hear from you.