Tuesday, October 27, 2020

Book review of The Resistance Girl by Jina Bacarr


French Village Diaries book review The Resistance Girl Jina Bacarr
The Resistance Girl by Jina Bacarr


The Resistance Girl by Jina Bacarr

Two women. One heartbreaking secret.


Paris, 1943.

Sylvie Martone is the star of French cinema, and adored by fans. But as Nazi officers swarm the streets of Paris, she is spotted arm in arm with an SS Officer and her fellow Parisians begin to turn against her.

However Sylvie has a secret - one she must protect with her life.

Paris, 2020.

Juliana Chastain doesn't know anything about her family history. While her mother was alive she remained very secretive about her past.

So when Juliana discovers a photograph of a glamorous French actress from World War Two amongst her mother's possessions, she is in shock to find herself looking at her grandmother - especially as she is arm in arm with a Nazi Officer...

Desperate for answers, Juliana is determined to trace the journey of her grandmother. Surely there is more to the photograph than meets the eye?

But as she delves into Sylvie's past, nothing can prepare Juliane for the tales of secrets, betrayal and sacrifice which she will uncover.

A heart-wrenching story of love and war, perfect for fans of Pam Jenoff and Suzanne Goldring.

 

French Village Diaries book review The Resistance Girl Jina Bacarr
Blog tour The Resistance Girl Jina Bacarr


My review

From the beginning of this book, I loved the character of Sylvie and was intrigued by Madeleine and the secrecy surrounding her life in France before she moved to America, where her daughter Juliana was born. Juliana is grieving for her mother, but she feels the time is right to look through her mother’s possessions, which is when she finds a photograph that shocks her. 

 

This discovery leads her on a journey to France, to the sanctuary of a convent that played an important part in both her mother’s and grandmother’s early years. Here she hopes to find the clues to help her uncover the facts from her family’s past; her mother’s childhood and her mysterious grandmother’s life during the German Occupation of Paris. It is a difficult journey emotionally and when secrets have been buried for so many years, finding the answers to her questions is not easy. Through a combination of the artefacts Juliana discovers and flashbacks of Sylvie’s life, we get a glimpse of the Paris cinema world in the years before the war, the lonely life of a young star, a forbidden romance and the pressures the industry and war put upon her. Sylvie was flawed, but always independent, passionate and determined to succeed in whatever she turned her mind to, whatever the risks, to protect those she loved.


This is the story of three women who should have had the opportunity to make happy memories together, but lived three very different lives, shrouded in secrecy and shame. It was desperately sad in places, but glamourous and uplifting too. If you enjoy historical dramas, I’m sure you will like this book as much as I did.

Purchase Links



https://buff.ly/3dHGHqQ


French Village Diaries book review The Resistance Girl Jina Bacarr
Jina Bacarr


Author Bio  

Jina Bacarr is a US-based historical romance author of over 10 previous books. She has been a screenwriter, journalist and news reporter, but now writes full-time and lives in LA. Jina’s novels have been sold in 9 territories.


French Village Diaries book review The Resistance Girl Jina Bacarr
The Resistance Girl Jina Bacarr



Social Media Links 

Newsletter 

Website 

Facebook 

Twitter  

Instagram 

YouTube 

Pinterest 

Bookbub 

Goodreads 

LinkedIn 

Book and Main Bites 

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please don't be shy, I love to hear from you.