Friday, December 3, 2021

Book review The Lost Girl in Paris by Jina Bacarr

French Village Diaries book review The Lost Girl in Paris Jina Bacarr
The Lost Girl in Paris by Jina Bacarr


The Lost Girl in Paris by Jina Bacarr

'I will never forget what the Nazi did to me. Never'

1940, Nazi-occupied Paris. A powerful story of love, tragedy and incredible courage, about one woman whose life is ripped apart by war and risks everything to seek justice. Brand new from the bestselling author of The Resistance Girl.

As Nazis patrol the streets of the French capital, Tiena is alone, desperate and on the run. After defending herself against the force of an officer, she must find a new identity in order to survive.

An accidental meeting with members of the Resistance gives her a lifeline, as she is offered the chance to reinvent herself as perfumer Angéline De Cadieux.

However Angéline will never forget what happened to her, and will do everything she can to seek revenge. But vengeance can be a dangerous game, and Angeline can only hide her true identity for so long before her past catches up with her, with some devastating consequences...

Paris, 2003. When the opportunity arises for aspiring journalist Emma Keane to interview world renowned perfumer Madame De Cadieux about her life during World War Two, she is determined to take it. There are secrets from her own family history that she hopes Angéline may be able to help unlock.

But nothing can prepare Emma for Angéline's story, and one thing is for certain - it will change her own life forever…

An absolutely heartbreaking, unforgettable historical novel of war, sacrifice and survival. Perfect for fans of Suzanne Goldring, Ella Carey and Catherine Hokin.


 

French Village Diaries book review The Lost Girl in Paris Jina Bacarr
The Lost Girl in Paris by Jina Bacarr


My review

When journalist Emma Keane lands herself an extraordinary experience to interview Angéline De Cadieux, she has her own personal reasons for discovering the mysterious past of this grande dame of perfume. I took to Emma from the first chapter of this book. Her determination, eye for detail and the mystery behind her obsession with Angéline piqued my interest. I couldn’t wait to discover what would be revealed and where her story would go.

 

Angéline has reached an age where she is ready to open her heart and is unusually drawn to Emma, flying her back to Paris, she begins to tell her story before they have landed. From her Roma roots, her desperate need to escape her caravan, and her arrival in Occupied Paris, her life was full of danger and the necessary deceit for survival. Her life changed in an instant, but she has a remarkable sense of smell – the gift of being a nose, that she is determined to use to her advantage. I could almost smell some of the fragrances described as I was reading.

 

There were plenty of secrets to be revealed throughout this book and I really enjoyed the way it made me try and guess what would happen when the two storylines came together.

 

I do enjoy a good split timeline novel and this one was packed with intrigue and drama from the beginning. If you are drawn to historical fiction set during the Occupation, then this should be on your 'to be read' pile this winter.



 

French Village Diaries book review The Lost Girl in Paris Jina Bacarr
The Lost Girl in Paris by Jina Bacarr

 

Purchase Link  



Amazon 



French Village Diaries book review The Lost Girl in Paris Jina Bacarr
Jina Bacarr


Author Bio   

 

Jina Bacarr is a US-based historical romance author of over 10 previous books. She has been a screenwriter, journalist and news reporter, but now writes full-time and lives in LA. Jina’s novels have been sold in 9 territories.

 

Social Media Links

  

Facebook 

Twitter   

Instagram  

Newsletter Sign Up Link 

Bookbub profile 

 



French Village Diaries book review The Lost Girl in Paris Jina Bacarr
The Lost Girl in Paris by Jina Bacarr


1 comment:

  1. Thank you, Jacqui, for the lovely review! Yes, I was hoping you could 'smell' the perfumes from the House of Doujan... I love writing about Paris and adding adventure and family angst. Merci beaucoup!!

    ReplyDelete

Please don't be shy, I love to hear from you.